The Bobcat Trail

The Bobcat Trail

The first rank that EVERY boy MUST earn when entering the Cub Scouting Program is the Bobcat rank.To earn the Bobcat rank the new Cub Scout must do the following:

  1. Learn and say the SCOUT OATH, with help if needed.

      1. "On my honor I will do my best

      2. To do my duty to God and my country

      3. and to obey the Scout Law;

      4. To help other people at all times;

      5. To keep myself physically strong,

      6. mentally awake and morally straight"

  2. Learn and say the SCOUT LAW, with help if needed.

      1. "A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly,

      2. courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty,

      3. brave, clean, and reverent."

  3. Show the CUB SCOUT SIGN. Tell what it means.

  4. Show the CUB SCOUT HANDSHAKE. Tell what it means.

  5. Say the CUB SCOUT MOTTO. Tell what it means.

      1. "Do Your Best"

  6. Give the CUB SCOUT SALUTE. Tell what it means.

  7. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the booklet,

  8. How to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse: A Parent's Guide.

The above items are the basic information that ALL Cub Scouts must learn, which is why EVERY boy who enters into Cub Scouting MUST earn the Bobcat Badge. He only needs to complete the course once in his Cub Scout career.